Research Compliance and Safety


New Mexico Tech's Compliance and Safety professionals offer services, training and support to help researchers maintain the highest ethical standards, security precautions and safety requirements. Please email us with your questions.

General Questions: research.compliance@nmt.edu

Hazardous Materials & Chemical Safety: hazmat@nmt.edu

Conflicts of Interest: coi@nmt.edu

Institutional Review Board: irb@nmt.edu 

Laser Safety Officer: LSO@nmt.edu

Radiation Safety Officer: RSO@nmt.edu

Industrial Security:  securityinbox@icasa.nmt.edu

Animal Care & Use: iacuc@nmt.edu


Research Compliance

NAME TITLE PHONE DEPARTMENT LOCATION EMAIL
Mikell Coleman Director 575-418-7155 Research Compliance ROB mikell.coleman@nmt.edu
Sheila O'Sullivan Policy Analyst and Training Specialist 575-835-6165 Research Compliance ROB sheila.osullivan@nmt.edu
TBD Special Security Officer/Site Manager - Research Compliance ROB TBD
Benjamin Thomas HAZMAT/Lab Safety Specialist 575-517-0646 Research Compliance ROB ben.thomas@nmt.edu
Valerie Thomas Research Compliance Officer 575-835-5749 Research Compliance ROB valerie.thomas@nmt.edu
Toni Urban Industrial Security Specialist - Research Compliance - loretta.reinicke@emrtc.nmt.edu
Troylyn Zimmerly Armijo Industrial Security Specialist I 575-418-7143 Research Compliance ROB troylyn.zimmerly@nmt.edu

New Mexico Tech is committed to supporting the safe use of radioactive materials in research and teaching. All matters related to radiation safety at NMT should be directed to the Radiation Safety Officers.

Radiation Safety Officers

NAME TITLE PHONE DEPARTMENT LOCATION EMAIL
Stacy Kuykendall Radiation Safety Officer 575-835-5020 EMRTC EMRTC 57 stacy@emrtc.nmt.edu
Julia Ricci Ph.D Associate Radiation Safety Officer 575-835-5217 Bureau of Geology BUREAU 133 julia.ricci@nmt.edu