A picture from the crowd's view of a performance on the stage. The Performing Arts Series logo is prominent on the image.
New Mexico Tech

Performing Arts Series



Albuquerque Jazz Orchestra

Showtime: 7:30pm
Tickets: $15/Adult; $12/Sr, 65+; $5/Youth, 17<; 
                 Free/NMT Students
Event Location:
Macey Center
Online Location: Facebook, YouTube
Online Location: Sweetheart Soiree Dinner

A button in rainbow colors that says "Get Tickets" and includes the Performing Arts Series logo. This image is the link to purchase tickets for the upcoming performance.




Founded in 1982 by Pancho Romero, the Albuquerque Jazz Orchestra , an 18-member big band with vocal powerhouse Hillary Smith, has been delighting audiences throughout the Southwest for more than thirty years. For many years, under the leadership of trombonist John Sanks, the band has performed with an impressive list of guest artists, including Toshiko Akiyoshi, Pete Christlieb, Jim Pugh, Scott Wendholt, Dick Oatts, John Fedchock, Wayne Bergeron, Bob McChesney, Jeff Coffin, Butch Miles and jazz trumpet legend and Albuquerque native Bobby Shew.

The band features professional and semi-professional musicians alongside local public school and university music educators to create a lively dynamic that lets audiences share in the dazzling sights and sounds of big-band swing.

And of course, dancing is welcome!!!

About the Artists

Woodwinds: Glenn Kostur, Aaron Lovato, Lee Taylor, Diantha Swoboda, Paul Blakey

Trumpets:  Derek Warren, Brad Dubbs, Henry Estrada, Paul Gonzales, Bruce Dalby.

Trombones: John Sanks, Ben Finberg, Chris Buckholz, Bill Austell

Rhythm Section: Steve Figueroa (p), Michael Anthony (g), Colin Deuble (b), and Andy Poling (d).

Vocalist: Hillary Smith

Musical Director: Glenn Kostur

Event Sponsors

Sponsors AJO