Department History

Jun 7, 2021

Here you can find information on past graduates, department chairs, etc.

Department timeline


Physics Department Chair History                 

Marx Brook until 1979
Bill Winn  1979-1983
Ross Lomanitz  1983-1985
Dave Raymond   1985-1994
Alan Blythe  1995-2000
Jim Weatherall  2000-2001
Tim Hankins  2001-2002
Ken Minschwaner   2002-2004
Dave Westpfahl   2004-2010
Ken Eack   2010-2013
Michelle Creech-Eakman   2013-2016
Richard Sonnenfeld  2016-2019
Lisa Young   2019-2022
Sharon Sessions   

* For any changes or corrections to the chairs list, contact Kiara Burgos to make adjustments. 



*The Information in the timeline was collected from "Storms Above the Desert" and "College on the Rio Grande." Photos were collected from the New Mexico Tech Archives.