New Mexico Tech - Faculty Senate Standing Committees 2023 - 2024 Academic Year

-------

Officers (2-year term) 2022-2024 Chair: Brian Borchers Vice-chair: Sally Pias Parliamentarian: Bill Stone

\_\_\_\_\_

Academic Freedom and Tenure (2-year term, with a 2/3 rotation): 2022-2024 Bill Stone, Mingji Zhang 2023-2025 Anders Jorgensen, Subhasish Mazumdar, Hamdy Soliman

Academic Standards and Admissions (2-year term with a 2/3 rotation): 2022-2024 Wes Cook, Yulia Mikhailova 2023-2025 Jeff Altig, Bill Chávez, Chelsey Hargather Ex-officio members including but not limited to the Associate Vice President of Academic Affairs, the Registrar, the Dean for Student Success, the Director of Financial Aid, and the Director of Admission.

\_\_\_\_\_

**ADA** (2-year term, with a 2/3 rotation):

2022-2024 Snežna Rogelj, Mark Samuels

2023-2025 Nicolas Holubowitch, Brett Taylor, Ujith Madduma Bandarage

Ex-Officio members include the Director of Student Access Services, the Director of Affirmative Action, two members of Facilities Management, an undergraduate student representative and a graduate student representative.

-----

**Benefits** (2-year term, with a 2/3 rotation): 2022-2024 Caitano daSilva, Troylyn Zimmerly 2023-2025 Megha Khandelwal, Kooktae Lee, Laura Waters

Budget & Research (3-year term, with a 2/2/2 rotation): 2021-2024 Anders Jorgensen, Mark Person 2022-2025 Ivan Avramidi, Haoying Wang 2023-2026 Rakhim Aitbayev, Ashok Ghosh

**Computing on Campus** (2-year term, with a 2/3 rotation):

2022-2024 Rakhim Aitbayev, Lorie Liebrock, John Nalibolorff

2023-2025 Deep Choudhuri, Moustapha Harb

Ex-officio members including but not limited to the Director of Information Technology and Communications (ITC), Director of the Academic Center for Technology, the Library Director, the Dean of Students, an undergraduate student representative and a graduate student representative.

\_\_\_\_\_

Curriculum Committee (2-year terms, with a 3/3 rotation)

2022-2024 Brian Borchers, Jamie Kimberley, Isabel Morris

2023-2025 Linda DeVeaux, Alex Rinehart, Stewart Thompson

Ex-officio members including but not limited to the Registrar and the Dean for Student Success.

Education & Research Efficiency (4-year term with 1/1/1/1 rotation):

2020-2024 Anders Jorgensen 2021-2025 Gilberto Gonzalez-Parra 2022-2026 Ryan Norris

2023-2027 Jiakai Zhang

\_\_\_\_\_

**Faculty Development** (2-year term, with a 2/3 rotation): 2022-2024 Julie Ford, Sihua Shao 2023-2025 Kip Carrico, Praveen Patidar, Bill Stone Ex-Officio members include the Associate Vice President of Academic Affairs.

Honorary Degrees & Awards (2-year term, with a 1/2 rotation): 2022-2024 Oleg Makhnin, Praveen Patidar 2023-2025 Bhaskar Majumdar

\_\_\_\_\_

**Mental Health Committee** (2-year-term, with 2/2 rotation) 2023-2024 Taylor Dotson, Tei Wei

2023-2025 Yulia Mikhailova, Minnie Mao

Ex-Officio members: An undergraduate student representative, a graduate student representative, the VP for Student Life or their designee, the Director of the Counseling Center or their designee and the Dean for Student Success.

\_\_\_\_\_

**Ombudspersons** (2-year term, one representative from faculty, one from staff): 2022-2024 Richard Sonnenfeld, Gloria Gutierrez-Anaya

\_\_\_\_\_

**Regents-Faculty Conference** (2-year term with 2/2 rotation, half Engineering and half Arts & Sciences Faculty):

2022-2024 Lorie Liebrock, Sharon Sessions

2023-2025 Richard Sonnenfeld,

Permanent Members: Faculty senate executive committee.

\_\_\_\_\_

**Retention** (2-year term, with a 2/3 rotation):

2022-2024 Michelle Creech-Eakman, Saulo Orizaga, Doug Wells

2023-2025 Brian Borchers, Hayley McCullough

Ex-Officio Members: Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs, the Director of the Office for Student Learning, the Director of Admission, the Registrar (who is also the Higher Ed Coordinator), the Dean for Student Success, the Director of the Office of Counseling Services, the Director of Student Access Services, Director of Financial Aid, the Director of Residential Life and an undergraduate student representative.

\_\_\_\_\_

**Faculty Sabbatical Leave** (2-year term, with a 2/3 rotation): 2022-2024 Mingji Zhang, Dan Cadol, Ivan Avramidi

2023-2025 Peter Hofner, Bixiang Wang

**Space Utilization and Campus Planning** (2-year term, with a 2/3 rotation):

2022-2024 Dave Meier, Doug Wells

2023-2025 Nicole Hurtig, Nikolai Kalugin, Michaelann Tartis

Ex-officio members including but not limited to the Director of Capital Projects, Registrar, an undergraduate student representative and a graduate student representative.

\_\_\_\_\_

Student and Faculty Conduct (2-year term, with a 2/3 rotation) 2022-2024 William Ampomah, Seda Senay, Stewart Thompson 2023-2025 Clint Richardson, Todd Wolford Ex-Officio Members: 2 undergraduate student representatives appointed annually by the SGA, and 2 graduate student members appointed annually by the GSA.

**Undergraduate Academic Advising Committee** (2-year term, with a 2/3 rotation) 2022-2024 Taffeta Elliott, Gaby Benalil, Clint Richardson

2023-2025 Curtis O'Malley, Kaarin Goncz

Ex Officio members: Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs, Registrar, Director of Admissions, Director of the Office of Student Learning, Dean for Student Success, Director of Student Affairs and Director of Veterans Affairs, an undergraduate student representative, and an undergraduate transfer student representative.

For committee descriptions read the <u>faculty senate standing rules</u> document in the academic affairs website.