NEW MEXICO INSTITUTE OF MINING AND TECHNOLOGY

FACULTY SENATE MEETING

Thursday, May 12, 2022 10:00 a.m. Workman 101

Minutes

1. Call to order

Chair Mike Hargather called the meeting to order at 10:03 am with a call for approval of the May 3, 2022 minutes.

2. Approval of minutes

action

Dr. Brian Borchers moved to approve the minutes, seconded by Dr. Bill Stone. Motion passed unanimously.

3. Approval of Degrees

action

Dr. Borchers moved to approve the list of graduating students. Motion passed unanimously.

4. Announcements

a. Commencement

Commencement will be on Saturday, May 14 at the Rodeo Grounds, starting at 9:00 am. Faculty will need to be present b**Selection of Graduation Awards**action

a. Brown Award

The Brown Award is named in honor of C. T. Brown, who was for many years a member of the NM Tech Board of Regents. The award is given to that person graduating with a Bachelor of Science degree who is judged by the faculty to be highest in scholarship, conduct, and leadership. In addition to a plaque, the award consists of a \$1,000 prize

Motion to approve the award nominee was moved and approved unanimously.

b. Cramer Award

This award was established to honor Tom Cramer, an engineer and a member of the NM Tech Board of Regents for 26 years. It is awarded to the top two seniors graduating in engineering who rank highest in scholarship. The awards consist of citations and \$400 prizes. The recipients are chosen by the Faculty Senate upon recommendation of the engineering faculty.

Motion to approve the award nominees was moved and approved unanimously.

c. Langmuir Award

The Langmuir Award for Excellence in Research is given for an outstanding scientific research paper by any student or graduate of New Mexico Tech. The paper must have been submitted to or published by a recognized journal during the preceding year. The recipient is selected by the Faculty Senate's Honorary Degrees and Awards Committee. The award is named in honor of Irving Langmuir (Nobel Laureate, 1932) who conducted extensive research with NM Tech staff. The award consists of a plaque and a \$400 cash prize.

Motion to approve the award nominee was moved and approved unanimously.

d. Founders Award

A Founders' Award was created to honor the persons responsible for establishing the New Mexico School of Mines in Socorro in 1889, especially J. J. Baca and Ethan Eaton. The award is presented to the recipient of an advanced degree who has made an outstanding contribution to NM Tech through scholarship, research, and involvement in campus affairs. The recipient is chosen by faculty nomination and Faculty Senate election. The award consists of a plaque and a \$800 cash prize.

Motion to approve the award nominee was moved and approved unanimously.

Dr. Ken Minschwaner moved that all students who were nominated for the Brown and Langmuir award would be notified, seconded by Dr. Lorie Liebrock.

Dr. Jamie Kimberly moved that all students who were nominated for the Cramer award would be notified, seconded by Dr. Lorie Liebrock.

y 8:00 am.

b. Next Faculty Senate

The next faculty senate meeting will be on September 6, 2022.

5. Adjournment

By unanimous decision, the meeting adjourned at 11:45 am.