Four Super-Achievers Named 2010 Macey Scholars

SOCORRO, N.M. May 1, 2010 – New Mexico Tech has selected four stellar students to be the 2010-2011 William B. and Jean M. Macey Scholars.

The four students are Lomeli Carpio, biology; Rachel Clements, chemistry; Austin Silva, electrical engineering; and Matt Swanson, mechanical engineering.


Lomeli Carpio


Moriarty H.S.


2009, UNM
2010, Mayo Clinic

Other Highlights:

Tri Beta
Science Olympiad
Research Asst.

After Tech:

Graduate program in biomedical science

Click here for a profile of Lomeli Carpio



Rachel Clements



Work: Semitracks

Other Highlights:

Tech Orchestra
Science Fair
Science Olympiad

After Tech:

Master's of Science in Teaching

Click here for a profile of Rachel Clements




Austin Silva

Electrical Eng.

 Cibola H.S.

Internship: Sandia Nat. Lab.

Other Highlights:

Engineers Without Borders
IEEE Chair
Student Appreciation Award
Teaching Asst.

After Tech:

Graduate school in cognitive science

Click here for a profile of Austin Silva



Matt Swanson

Mechanical Eng.

Belen H.S.


Air Force Research Lab

Other Highlights:

SAE Aero
Research Asst.
Campus Tutor

After Tech:

Start his career and graduate school

Click here for a profile of Matt Swanson


Macey Scholars are academic standouts, as well as “super-citizens.” They represent the best of and most well-rounded Tech students – brilliant young scientists and engineers who are involved in their communities and give of their time to worthy causes.

“New Mexico Tech is very fortunate to have the generous support of the William B. Macey family to recognize some of our most outstanding students.,” said Elaine DeBrine Howell, the scholarship committee chair. “I am in awe of the strength of character and stunning accomplishments of this year’s winners.”

The Macey Scholarship is among the most prestigious scholarship awarded at New Mexico Tech. The program is named after 1942 New Mexico Tech graduate William B. Macey. Mr. Macey has been among the biggest supporters of New Mexico Tech over the years, including significant contributors to the Macey Center building fund in the early 1980s.

DeBrine Howell, who is also the Associate Dean of Student Success, said, "Our 2010 Macey Scholars are especially deserving of this honor with their generous contributions to their fellow students and the Socorro community in addition to their exceptional scholarship."

Macey Scholars are Tech undergraduate students who are U.S. citizens, have completed 30 semester hours and have a cumulative GPA of 3.4 or greater. Qualified students apply for the program, along with nominations from faculty and staff members, employers and research associates nominate students. Those selected as Macey Scholars receive an award of $5,000.

The selections are based upon accomplishments in the classroom, research laboratory, service projects, volunteerism, awards, honors and other activities. Each of the 2010 winners have an impressive resumé, full of research projects, internships, volunteer work and extracurricular activities. They are all well-rounded young scientists who have marked their careers at Tech with academic achievement, campus involvement and devotion to helping others.

By Thomas Guengerich/New Mexico Tech