WSIIR\People

WIPP Site Incident Independent Review (WSIIR) Team

The WIPP Site Incident Independent Review (WSIIR) team is composed of the following faculty, administrators, and staff at New Mexico Tech. WSIIR is led by New Mexico Tech’s Vice President for Research and Economic Development, Van Romero.


Van Romero, Ph.D.

...

Project Principal Investigator

Vice President for Research and Economic Development
Email: vromero@nmt.edu Phone: 575-835-5646


Jeff Altig, Ph.D.

...

Department Chair, Department of Chemistry

Associate Professor of Chemistry, and Director of Chemical Laboratories
Email: jaltig@nmt.edu Phone: 575-835-6987



Melissa Candelaria-Lyons

...

Research Chemist, EMRTC

Ph.D. student, Department of Materials Engineering
Email: mcandela@nmt.edu Phone: 575-835-5348


Gina Chavez

...

Administrative Assistant, R&ED

Staff, Research and Economic Development
Email: gchavez@admin.nmt.edu Phone: 575-835-5646


Ali Fakhimi, Ph.D.

Fakhimi pic

Professor, Department of Mineral Engineering

Email: hamed@nmt.edu Phone: 575-835-6577



Julie Ford, Ph.D.

...

Professor, Technical Communication

Department of Mechanical Engineering
Email: jford@nmt.edu Phone: 575-835-5468



Michael Hensley, Ed.D

...

Director, Strategic Initiatives, Research and Economic Development

Staff, Research and Economic Development
Email: mhensley@admin.nmt.edu Phone: 575-835-6712



Navid Mojtabai, Ph.D.

...

Department Chair, Department of Mineral Engineering

Professor of Mineral Engineering
Email: mojtabai@nmt.edu Phone: 575-835-5836