Martindale, Nevarez Named Athletes of the Year

Tech Clubs Prove Academics and Sports Do Mix

Martindale, Nevarez Named Athletes of the Year

New Mexico Tech's sporting community gathered to honor outstanding members of 16 distinct sport clubs on an ideal spring evening April 21. As in recent years the sport club awards banquet was held at the covered pavilion overlooking the 18th hole of the NMT golf course.

  Kristian Martindale with club sports director Dave Wheelock.


  Julian Nevarez with club sports director Dave Wheelock.


The highlight of the annual affair was the naming of Kristian Martindale as Tech's Sportswoman of the Year and Julian Nevarez as the Institute's Sportsman of the Year. The pair are members of the NMT women's and men's soccer clubs, respectively.

Kristian Martindale served the Lady Miners, among Tech's most active sport clubs, as treasurer and team captain. Competing in the Albuquerque Soccer League, Ms. Martindale and her teammates traveled north nearly every weekend during both the fall and spring semesters.

Proving that sports and academics can mix, Martindale retained the status of Tech Scholar, which requires at least a 3.5 GPA and nomination by an academic department.

A letter of nomination mentioned her leadership in volunteer and fundraising activities by the club, all while holding on-campus employment in the Chemistry stockroom.

While still a sophomore, Julian Nevarez was elected president of the Miners soccer club, a position in which, according to a nominating letter, he demonstrated the ability to "handle any issue with grace and ease, keeping in mind what is best for the team."

As an experienced player, Julian often volunteered his own time to help some of the newer Lady Miners with their individual soccer skills.

Like Martindale, he also provided leadership in various fundraising and volunteer activities in addition to holding down an on-campus job working as an event manager for Tech's Fidel and Macey Centers.

Both of Tech's top sports award-winners will return next year to help their clubs build on this year's successes.

Other sport clubs honored their own special members with framed certificates, including:

  • Cricket: Varun Rao, Outstanding Leadership

  • Paintball: Joseph Thompson, Most Valuable Player and James Richardson, Most Improved

  • Men's Rugby: Brian Arko, Lifetime Achievement and Manny Hernandez, Best Dressed

  • Shooting sports: Drew Krause, Marksman of the Year and Vincent Herrera, Most Improved

  • Women's Soccer: Kristina Bueche, MVP and Kristian Martindale, Team Player

  • Street Hockey: Mark McCoy, Trueblood Award and Evan Prichard, The Iron Curtain

  • Track and Field: Sierra Cahill, Runner of the Year and Amber Yazzie, Most Valued Person

  • Volleyball: Ethan Risley, Old Faithful Award and Erica Franco, Positive Performer


The NMT Sports Club Program thanks the offices of Student and University Relations and Research and Economic Development for their continued support of the NTM sports award banquet.

– NMT –

By Dave Wheelock, NMT Sports Club Coordinator