Saturday’s Commencement Will Be Live Streamed

Saturday’s Commencement Will Be Live Streamed

Class of 2016 Is Largest Ever At Tech

The 2016 Commencement ceremony at New Mexico Tech will feature the largest number of students in the history of the institute. The ceremony begins at 9 a.m. Saturday, May 14, on the lawn north of Brown Hall.

Once again this year the Academic Center for Technology will be offering a live webcast of the commencement ceremony. Viewers can access the webcast at goo.gl/7nzwWP.

   graduationgenericDSC 0452

More than 300 students will walk in the ceremony, including 244 bachelor’s recipients, 45 master’s recipients and 12 Ph.D.’s. The Class of 2016 (including those not participating in graduation) is the largest ever, with 430 degrees conferred since last year’s commencement.

The ceremony is open to the public. Friends and family who attend graduation are encouraged to bring chairs, since limited bleacher seating will be available. Water and sunscreen are advisable as well. Campus police will provide shuttle service from the parking lot on College Avenue. Immediately following the ceremony, everyone is invited to an open reception on the south side of Brown Hall for snacks and refreshments.

Also, the Alumni Relations Office will have a professional photographer on hand to take portraits of graduates with their families immediately after the event.  

Along with the webcast will be a chat application so that viewers can share their thoughts as the commencement progresses. A recording of the commencement will be available from the same link shortly after the end of the ceremony.

The top awards will be announced during the ceremony, including the Brown Award to the top student, two Cramer awards to the two top engineering students, the Langmuir Award to the graduate student who published the most influential paper, and the Founder’s Award to the top graduate student who made an impact on campus culture.

Other awards include two faculty awards. The 2016 Distinguished Researcher is Dr. Mark Person, professor of hydrology. The 2016 Distinguished Teacher is Dr. Kevin Kirk, of the biology department. The Alumni Association will recognize Arizona State University professor Dr. Nikhilesh Chawla (NMT Class of 1993), and retiring president Dr. Daniel H. Lopez.

Plus the undergraduate Student Government Association and the Graduate Student Association both will present awards to faculty, staff and students.

– NMT –