Regents Name Finalists For University President

SOCORRO, N.M. January 19, 2016 – The Board of Regents of New Mexico Tech would like to announce the final candidate list for the office of President. The highly qualified list of candidates is:

*  Dr. Ronald L. Elsenbaumer, Senior Advisor to the President for Entrepreneurship and Economic Development at the University of Texas at Arlington. 

Dr. Kate C. Miller, dean of geosciences, Texas A&M

* Dr. Nagi G. Naganathan, professor and dean of engineering, University of Toledo

Dr. Richard T. Schoephoerster, former professor and dean of engineering, University of Texas-El Paso

* Dr. Stephen G. Wells, president of the Desert Research Institute, Nevada System of Higher Education

The Board of Regents received and reviewed over 30 applications. A search committee of 11 members, representing various constituencies of the University, was appointed by the board of directors. The board wishes to thank the search committee who spent countless hours working diligently over the past eight months.

On-campus individual candidate interviews and stakeholder forums will take place over the following couple of weeks.

By statute, the Board of Regents is required to select a new president from the list of finalists within 30 days. The Board will meet on Friday, Feb. 19, to make a final selection.

– NMT –