Tech President Receives Mining Association Award

SANTA FE, N.M. February 4, 2010 – The New Mexico Mining Association has selected New Mexico Tech President Dr. Daniel H. Lopez as the 2010 recipient of  a special mining association award called the  Doc Weiler/Marvin Watts Professionalism Award. 

Mike Bowen, Executive Director for the Mining Association,  said Dr. Lopez has provided valuable assistance and support of the mining industry  over the years.

   Dr. Daniel H. López will receive an award from the New Mexico Mining Association at the groups annual banquet Tuesday in Santa Fe.

As the former New Mexico School of Mines, the Socorro university has always worked closely with the industry and the Association,  Bowen said. Dr. Lopez has always fostered a close working relationship between the Mining Association and the university, he said.

“Dr. Lopez has always helped us when we’ve needed expertise from higher education and from the research angle also ,”  Bowen said. “

Dr. Lopez has been the New Mexico Tech president since 1993. He said he’s honored by the recognition from Mining Association, which has a long history of collaboration with the university.

“New Mexico Tech has served the mining industry in many ways for more than a century,” Lopez said. “Not only do we provide a top-notch education for tomorrow’s engineers, but we also contribute significant research that benefits the extractive industries. I have always tried to be an intermediary between mining industry concerns, higher education and our state government.”

New Mexico Tech also is home to the  Office of the Mine Inspector and has hosted the annual conference of the Mining Association. Bowen said the Mining Association Board of Directors is appreciative of the university’s contributions to the mining industry.

“Dr. Lopez has been a partner in many respects,” Bowen said. “We’ve always had good relationship with New Mexico Tech and the Office of the Mine Inspector. Lopez will be honored at the Mining Association’s annual legislative dinner  at 6 p.m. Monday, Feb. 8, at the Hilton Inn in Santa Fe. He will receive an award named after Doc Weiler and Marvin Watts, two former  Lobbyists for the mining industry.  

H.J. “Doc” Weiler and Marvin Watts were two of the most popular and respected lobbyists ever to walk the halls of the State Capitol, Bowen said. They used their exemplary knowledge of the governmental process to become two of the strongest advocates for New Mexico’s mining industry.

“Their dedication to mining extended beyond the interests of their clients and benefiting the New Mexico Mining Association and the industry as a whole,” he said. “Doc and Marvin will always be remembered for their professionalism.”

Also at the dinner, the Association will give the Senator Ben D. Altamirano Award for legislative excellence to Sen. Richard Martinez
Anyone interested in attending the banquet should call Lala Garcia at the President’s Office at 835-5600.

– NMT –

By Thomas Guengerich/New Mexico Tech