Macey Scholarship Deadline Approaching

SOCORRO, N.M. March 18, 2010 – The Macey Scholars Program is seeking more applications from Tech students for the 2010-2011 awards. The deadline is for submitting an application and nomination letters is March 31. Undergraduate students who excel academically and have been active in extracurricular activites are encouraged to apply.

Students interested in applying for the scholarships should pick up an application in the office of Academic Affairs in Brown Hall 210 and on line by clicking here. The deadline for returning application is 5 p.m. Wednesday, March 31.

Those interested must provide a statement of no more than two pages describing why he or she should be considered for designation as a Macey Scholar. Students are also welcome to submit letters of recommendation from professors, researchers and other mentors. Letters of reference should be sent directly to Student and University Relations, Brown Hall, c/o Macey Scholars Program.

The Macey Scholarship is among the most prestigious scholarship awarded at New Mexico Tech. The program is named after 1942 New Mexico Tech graduate William B. Macey. Mr. Macey has been among the biggest supporters of New Mexico Tech over the years, including significant contributors to the Macey Center building fund in the early 1980s.

New Mexico Tech undergraduate students who are U.S. citizens, have completed 30 semester hours and have a cumulative GPA of 3.4 or greater are eligible. Faculty and staff members can nominate students, but nominated students still need to file an application. Those selected as Macey Scholars will receive an award of $5,000.

The selection(s) will be based upon accomplishments in the classroom and/or research laboratory together with institutional service and other activities that have brought credit to you and to New Mexico Tech. These accomplishments could include awards, honors, membership in campus organizations, part-time jobs, service to the university, research endeavors and other relevant activities.

The Awards are distributed during the academic year following selection. One must be currently enrolled at New Mexico Tech in order to receive the scholarship.

Last year's winners were Amber Ortega, Katrina Lepthien, Laura Stanley and Caitlin Allen, all of whom are seniors this year.

Questions should be directed to Dr. Scott Zeman, Associate Vice President of Academic Affairs at 835-5227 or Debby Olguin at 835-5363.

– NMT –

By Thomas Guengerich/New Mexico Tech